Broadcast News

Bookmark and Share

Winners Of The RTS North West Student Awards Announced

The winners of the RTS North West Student Awards 2010/11 have been announced.
The ceremony was held at the Manchester Cornerhouse last night and was hosted by Radio Manchester, Andy Crane.
Designed to celebrate the achievements of students in the North West of England, this year's awards honoured work in the categories of Animation, Entertainment, Factual and Fiction.
Edward Pugh, Chair of RTS NW Student Events, said: "The RTS North West Student Awards has become a key event for the region. This is highlighted by the response received; the 2010/11 saw double the number of student entries and the number of universities and colleges taking part has also increased.
"The jury of TV professionals were hugely impressed by the calibre of work which was both diverse and creative; therefore tough decisions were made in choosing the nominations and final winners."
Students from the University of Bolton were awarded the prize for Fiction. Play Nice, by Samantha Deas, Jamie Coles and Richard Addlesee, is a short film about two brothers playing an innocent game of army, but whose playful imagination suddenly becomes a reality. Those nominated in this category included Like Joe, Loathe Joe by Jim Morgan, Loran Dunn and Paul Daly from Manchester School of Art (Manchester Metropolitan University) and fellow MMU students, Rachel Hall, Jim Morgan and Stephen Roe, who received a nomination for By My Hand or His.
Liverpool John Moores University students Thomas Davies, Luke Evans, Paul Harrison and Jamie Hetherington were awarded the prize for Factual, for their inspiring film I Didn't Know There Was a War On, about school children who were evacuated to escape the World War II blitz.
Also nominated in this category was Behind The Smile by Phillip Connor, Simon Hewitt, Tom Jones and Claire Morrison, also from Liverpool John Moores University and Hakka by Cheuk Keun Li from The Manchester School of Art, MMU.
Charlotte Blacker, a student at the University of Central Lancashire, was awarded the Animation prize for The Little Red Plane, an animation short about a boy and his car who deliver parcels in their little red plane. She beat off fierce competition from James Millington, also from the University of Central Lancashire for his piece Bluey and Louie, and Andria Pourouti for Lost in Tour (University of Salford).
Edge Hill University students Jim Martin, Anna Ormsby and Dan Evans, were awarded the Entertainment prize for Escape from the Studio. The show tours the UK, getting well-known bands such as The Mekkits, out onto the streets to perform in their hometown. Also nominated in this category was Weird and Wonderful by Sam Earl and Team from Stockport College and Shmoo (The Adelphi Sessions) by Hames Adnitt from the University of Salford.
Those present at the ceremony also enjoyed an In Conversation with Helen Bullough, Head of Entertainment Production at BBC North. She gave the audience the lowdown on BBC Entertainment and the output from her department, which includes Dragon's Den, A Question of Sport and Mastermind.
Solidmate Ltd Memory Card Hire London

Top Related Stories
Click here for the latest broadcast news stories.

Production News : Channel 4 Appoints Commissioning Editor For Factual Entertainment
Channel 4 has appointed a new Commissioning Editor for Factual Entertainment. Gilly Greenslade will report to Head of Factual Entertainment Kelly Webb
RTS Opens Entries For Student Television Awards 2018
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has opened entries for the RTS Student Television Awards 2018. The awards recognises work created by undergraduate
Graduate Film Shortlisted For TV Awards
A film made by graduates of the University of Wolverhampton's Video and Film Production course has been shortlisted at this year's RTS Student Televis
RTS Announce Student Television Awards 2016 Nominations
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Student Television Awards 2016. The Awards celebrate the best in student
Nominations For RTS Student Television Awards Announced
The nominations for the 20th annual RTS Student Television Awards have been announced. Chaired by Stuart Murphy, Director, Sky Entertainment Channels,
RTS Announces Nominations For North West Awards 2017
The Royal Television Society (RTS) North West Centre has announced the nominations for its annual awards, at an event sponsored by Audio Network. Cat
Panasonic Nominated In Three Categories At Gear Of The Year Awards
Panasonic has been nominated for three categories at Pro Moviemaker's 2017 Gear of the Year Awards for Innovation of the Year, Launch of the Year and
RTS North West Announces Shortlist For 2010 Awards
The Royal Television Society has announced the shortlist for its 2010 awards in the North West - one of the UK's most respected and celebrated awards
Finalists Announced For ASC 2018 Student Heritage Awards
The finalists have been announced for the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) 2018 Student Heritage Awards. The awards are designed to inspire
Winner Named Of The Vista Project Student Filmmaker Competition
The winner and runner-up of this year's The Vista Project student filmmaker competition has been announced. The competition, hosted by SMPTE and TimeP
TSL Systems Assist With University Project
TSL Systems has assisted with a recent project at the University of Gloucestershire media studies faculty. The company provided consultancy and system
SMPTE Confirms Upcoming Submission Deadlines
The Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) has issued a call for papers for the SMPTE Student Paper Award. It is also accepting ap
IABM Announces Student Award Winners
The winners of the 2013 IABM Engineering Student Awards have been revealed. The programme recognises "high-achieving college students in the fields of
Winners Of RTS Student Television Awards Announced
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the winners of the RTS Student Television Awards 2013. The Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards were
RTS East Centre Announces Nominations For Awards
The Royal Television Society (RTS) East Centre has announced the nominations for the RTS East Awards 2017. The inaugural awards will take place on 25