Broadcast News

Bookmark and Share

Finalists Announced For ASC 2018 Student Heritage Awards

News Image
The finalists have been announced for the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) 2018 Student Heritage Awards.

The awards are designed to inspire the next generation by recognising graduate, undergraduate and documentary cinematography.

There are 13 nominees from 10 universities across the three categories.

The ASC Student Heritage Awards also celebrate the memory of an exceptional cinematographer and are re-named each year in honour of esteemed ASC members. This year's Undergraduate Award is named in honour of Gerald Hirschfeld, ASC and the Graduate Award honours Sol Negrin, ASC. The Documentary category is dedicated to Haskell Wexler, ASC.

Winners will be announced on 13 October.

Finalists for this year's student awards are:
ASC Sol Negrin, ASC Student Heritage Award – Graduate Category:
• Brody Anderson for 'Drawn Curtains', Chapman University – Dodge College
• Steven Breckon for 'A Place to Stay', American Film Institute (AFI)
• Andres Gallegos for 'Shoe Shiner', San Francisco State University
• Yair Halper for 'Sauna', American Film Institute (AFI)
• Heyjin Jun for 'Difficult People', University of Southern California (USC) School of Cinematic Arts
ASC Gerald Hirschfield, ASC Student Heritage Award – Undergraduate Category:
• Jack Craymer for 'Sonora', Chapman University – Dodge College
• Matthew Hayward for 'The Latent Image', Columbia College Chicago
• Grace Marrero for 'The Girl and the Bird', Florida State University (FSU) College of Motion Picture Arts
• Simms Wright for 'Sodium Vapor Nights', University of North Carolina (UNC) School of the Arts

ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award:
• Alejandro Cortes Sanchez for 'Adrift', School of Visual Arts NYC
• Rachel Lattin for 'Monumental', Chapman University – Dodge College
• Minagi Tanaka for 'She Comes at Night', State University of New York at New Paltz
• Xinzhong Zhao for 'Francis Ford Coppola's Live Cinema', University of California Los Angeles (UCLA)

Negrin was nominated for five Emmy Awards — three for his work on the detective drama 'Kojak', one for the telefilm 'The Last Tenant', and one for an episode of the series 'Baker's Dozen'. His cinematography in television commercials also earned four Clio Awards. Negrin received the ASC Presidents Award in 2010 in recognition of not only his expertise behind the camera, but for being an ambassador of the art and craft of cinematography.

In 2007, Hirschfeld was honoured with the ASC Presidents Award. His reputation for being a precise, exacting perfectionist led to his first major feature assignment, shooting the Cold War drama 'Fail-Safe' for director Sidney Lumet. He would go on to shoot some 40 feature films, including 'The Incident', 'Goodbye Columbus', 'Cotton Comes to Harlem', 'Diary of a Mad Housewife', 'Young Frankenstein', 'Two Minute Warning', 'The World's Greatest Lover', 'The Bell Jar', 'Neighbors', 'My Favorite Year' and 'To Be or Not to Be'.

Wexler began his career shooting documentaries and remained a passionate documentarian throughout his career. He earned an Academy Award® in 1966 for 'Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?' and a second Oscar® in 1976 for 'Bound for Glory'. He also received nominations for 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest' (shared with Bill Butler, ASC), 'Matewan' and 'Blaze'. In 1969, Wexler wrote, directed and shot 'Medium Cool', which is studied by film students worldwide for its cinéma vérité style. In 1992, he was honoured with the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award.
Many ASC Student Heritage Award winners have gone on to have successful careers in filmmaking, and several have been invited to be ASC members themselves.
Solidmate Ltd Memory Card Hire London

Top Related Stories
Click here for the latest broadcast news stories.

Middlesex University Invests In Sennheiser
Middlesex University has recently made a significant investment in Sennheiser's Digital 6000 wireless microphone series to upgrade and future proof th
Graduate Film Shortlisted For TV Awards
A film made by graduates of the University of Wolverhampton's Video and Film Production course has been shortlisted at this year's RTS Student Televis
Clear-Com Partners With The University Of North Texas
Clear-Com® and the University of North Texas (UNT) recently co-hosted an educational session on the basic principles of wireless intercom technologies
Salford University Selects Sony
With over 1,200 students a year enrolled on a range of courses from television and radio, to visual and animation, Salford University is well known fo
Techtel Enhances RMIT University's Infrastructure
Techtel has upgraded RMIT University's (RMIT) infrastructure to power its School of Media and Communication with the Harmonic MediaGrid 4000 shared st
ASC Announces Nominees For 34th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has revealed its documentary and television nominees for the 34th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Aw
Nominees Announced For 33rd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has unveiled the nominees for all categories of the 33rd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards. Win
RTS Announces Nominations For North West Awards 2017
The Royal Television Society (RTS) North West Centre has announced the nominations for its annual awards, at an event sponsored by Audio Network. Cat
Sachtler And Vinten Announce Trifecta Of Awards For flowtech At IBC2017
Sachtler® and Vinten®, both Vitec Group brands and global industry leaders in camera supports for more than 100 years, today announced that their revo
Winners Of IABM's Design & Innovation Awards Announced
The winners of IABM's Design & Innovation Awards have been announced. The judging was carried out by a panel of 40 independent, highly experienced ind
RTS Opens Entries For Student Television Awards 2018
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has opened entries for the RTS Student Television Awards 2018. The awards recognises work created by undergraduate
RTS East Centre Announces Nominations For Awards
The Royal Television Society (RTS) East Centre has announced the nominations for the RTS East Awards 2017. The inaugural awards will take place on 25
GTC Announces Annual Awards Day
The date and venue for this year's Guild of Television Cameramen (GTC) awards and AGM has been announced. The events will take place on Sunday, 14 May
RTS Announce Scotland Awards 2017
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Scotland Awards 2017. The awards cover all forms of production in Scotlan
ASC Names 2018 Student Heritage Award Winners
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has named the 2018 Student Heritage Award winners. Three student filmmakers were honored for demonstrat