Broadcast News

Bookmark and Share

RTS Announce Student Television Awards 2016 Nominations

News Image
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Student Television Awards 2016.

The Awards celebrate the best in student television throughout the UK and are Chaired by Stuart Murphy. The awards are judged in six categories; Animation, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Factual, News and Open. Awards will also be presented for Camerawork, Editing and Sound, where entries are not accepted but the prizes awarded at the judges' discretion.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Friday 3 June at the BFI Southbank. The nominated films will also be available to view on Sky Arts' on-demand service following the awards.

The 2016 nominations are:

Undergraduate Animation
Bluebarry, Tommy Vad Flaaten and Markus Vad Flaaten, Kingston University
Dresslocked, Domareen Fox, Teesside University
The Armadillo and the Earwig, Ben Cresswell, Edinburgh College of Art

Undergraduate Comedy & Entertainment
ICT, James Webb, Reece Ronan, Lauren Briggs and Curtis Mahoney, Sheffield Hallam University
The Switch, Olly Philpott-Smith, Lauren Brown, Sam Okell and Faisal Muhammed, The Manchester Film School at The Manchester College
Valentines Park, Leah Revivo, Joseph Mills, Bradley Kiel and Oliver McMillan, University for the Creative Arts

Undergraduate Drama
Gnomes, Josh Mullins, Mike Priest, Colin Donaldson and Shani Vizma, Liverpool John Moores University
Starfish, Louise Dawson, Dayna Baptie and Fergus Thom, The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Tehzeeb, Myriam Raja and Eloise Rudd, Arts University Bournemouth

Undergraduate Factual
Dipper from the Water of Leith, Kris Kubik, University of Edinburgh
Eat, then Wait for the Night, Jing Zhao, Teesside University
La Deriva Dei Continenti, Pietro Novello and Alexander G Simpson, Arts University Bournemouth

Undergraduate News
Sexabled, Kin Hang Lee, University of Sheffield
Wars on the Moors, Alexander James Nicol, Plymouth University

Undergraduate Open
An Unfortunate End: The Boy & The Fairy, Jordanne Richards, University of South Wales
Fridge Wars, Rebecca Daniel, University of Leeds
Insert FILM TITLE here, I guess, Urmas Salu, University for the Creative Arts

Postgraduate Animation
Edmond, Nina Gantz and Emilie Jouffroy, National Film and Television School
Fulfilament, Rhiannon Evans, Joe Murtagh and Alexandra Breede, National Film and Television School
Mr Madila, Rory Waudby-Tolley, Royal College of Art

Postgraduate Comedy & Entertainment
Monster Hunters, Brigitta Szaszfai and Jonathan Dakin, National Film and Television School
The Life of a Sober Man, The Team, Bournemouth University

Postgraduate Drama
Fractured City, Sean Murray, Queen's University, Belfast
Group B, Nick Rowland, Alexandra Breede and Joe Murtagh, National Film and Television School
Sick, David Winstone and Josh Lowe, National Film and Television School

Postgraduate Factual
Chasing Dad, Philip Wood, Goldsmiths University of London
Esta Vida (This Life), Lyttanya Shannon, National Film and Television School
The Heart's Scar, Thuy Le and Tiago Espirito Santo, Bournemouth University

Postgraduate News
Brits in Poland, Anna Senkara, Goldsmiths, University of London
Cloning: Tailored for Success, Anna Lidster, Goldsmiths, University of London

Postgraduate Open
Crunchy, Simon Cartwright and Jacob Thomas, National Film and Television School
Office Romance, Rebecca Gibson and Kat Pearl, National Film and Television School

Craft Skills Awards
Awards for Camerawork, Editing and Sound will be presented to both Undergraduates and Postgraduates on the night. These are selected at the national judges' discretion.

Solidmate Ltd Memory Card Hire London

Top Related Stories
Click here for the latest broadcast news stories.

School Pupils To Create Films For Elstree Studios Film Festival
The Elstree Studios Film Festival has started filming across 15 schools in Hertsmere. As part of Elstree Studio's 90th anniversary, the studio teamed
RTS Announces Winners Of Student Television Awards 2014
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the winners of the 20th RTS Student Television Awards. Chaired by Stuart Murphy, Director, Sky Entert
RTS Announces 2015 Undergraduate Bursary Recipients
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the recipients of its undergraduate bursaries for 2015. This year, the RTS has invested £75,000 in tw
RTS Announces Student Award Nominees
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Student Television Awards 2013. The awards are chaired by Patrick Younge,
Dame Diana Rigg Celebrates Iconic Television Shows At Elstree Studios
"We continue to make the very best television in the world in this country", said Dame Diana Rigg at Elstree Studios celebration of iconic television
Radford Uni Upgrades Educational Television Production Studio
Radford University has recently upgraded its educational television production studio to a fully HD environment. The school purchased four Z-HD5000 ca
Winners Of RTS Student Television Awards Announced
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the winners of the RTS Student Television Awards 2013. The Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards were
IFTAs Awarded In Dublin
The winners of the 8th Annual Irish Film & Television Awards were announced at a gala ceremony held at Dublin's Convention Centre. The main categories
Finalists Announced For Bill Vinten GTC Award
The finalists have been announced for the Bill Vinten GTC University Award. The competition focusses on undergraduates' use of camera skills to enhanc
Nominations For RTS Student Television Awards Announced
The nominations for the 20th annual RTS Student Television Awards have been announced. Chaired by Stuart Murphy, Director, Sky Entertainment Channels,
GTC Announces Bill Vinten Awards Venue
The Guild of Television Cameramen has announced that the inaugural Bill Vinten GTC University awards will take place on October 24 between 6pm and 9pm
GTC Reveals Nominees For Bill Vinten Award
The Guild of Television Cameramen has announced the shortlist of recipients for a new award set up to encourage education and training of camerawork s
RTS Announces East Centre's Television Award Winners
The Royal Television Society (RTS) East Centre has announced the winners for the RTS East Centre Awards 2017 with a ceremony hosted by BBC Look East p
The Queen to launch digital television centre at Staffordshire University
Her Majesty The Queen, accompanied by The Duke of Edinburgh, will visit Staffordshire University and open the UK’s newest TV centre. The Queen will of
Origin Film & Television Appoints New MD
Origin Film & Television has appointed James Gander as managing director. Former managing director and company director of Hyperactive Broadcast, Gand