Broadcast News

Bookmark and Share

Nominations For RTS Student Television Awards Announced

News Image
The nominations for the 20th annual RTS Student Television Awards have been announced.

Chaired by Stuart Murphy, Director, Sky Entertainment Channels, the Awards celebrate the best in student television across the UK. The Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards are judged in five categories: Animation, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Factual and, new for this year, Open – for films that are a maximum of three minutes in length and of any subject matter.

In addition, to reward excellence in craft skills, this year, Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards will be presented for Camerawork, Editing and Sound. Entries were not accepted for these categories and the prizes will be awarded at the judges’ discretion.

Students from higher education institutions across England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland are represented in the nominations, including Ballyfermot College of Further Education; Bangor University; Bath Spa University; City of Glasgow College; Edinburgh College of Art; Kingston University; National Film and Television School; Royal College of Art; Staffordshire University; The Arts University, Bournemouth; The National Film School, Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Dún Laoghaire; University of Central Lancashire; University for the Creative Arts, Farnham; University of Leeds; University of Salford; University of South Wales; University of Westminster; University of the West of England and York St John University.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony, hosted by comedian Romesh Ranganathan, on Friday 5 June at the BFI Southbank. This year, for the first time, the nominated films will be transmitted by Sky, together with highlights from the Awards ceremony.

Solidmate Ltd Memory Card Hire London

Top Related Stories
Click here for the latest broadcast news stories.

RTS Announces Nominations For North West Awards 2017
The Royal Television Society (RTS) North West Centre has announced the nominations for its annual awards, at an event sponsored by Audio Network. Cat
RTS East Centre Announces Nominations For Awards
The Royal Television Society (RTS) East Centre has announced the nominations for the RTS East Awards 2017. The inaugural awards will take place on 25
RTS Announce Student Television Awards 2016 Nominations
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Student Television Awards 2016. The Awards celebrate the best in student
Production News : Sky Arts Launches Art 50
Sky Arts has announced the launch of Art 50, to explore what it means to be British in a post-Brexit Britain, following the triggering of Article 50 o
Sachtler And Vinten Announce Trifecta Of Awards For flowtech At IBC2017
Sachtler® and Vinten®, both Vitec Group brands and global industry leaders in camera supports for more than 100 years, today announced that their revo
Winners Of IABM's Design & Innovation Awards Announced
The winners of IABM's Design & Innovation Awards have been announced. The judging was carried out by a panel of 40 independent, highly experienced ind
GTC Announces Annual Awards Day
The date and venue for this year's Guild of Television Cameramen (GTC) awards and AGM has been announced. The events will take place on Sunday, 14 May
RTS Announce Scotland Awards 2017
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Scotland Awards 2017. The awards cover all forms of production in Scotlan
RTS Opens Entries For Student Television Awards 2018
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has opened entries for the RTS Student Television Awards 2018. The awards recognises work created by undergraduate
Gravity Media Nominated At RTS Programme Awards 2020
Gravity Media has been nominated in the Best Sports Programme category at the RTS Programme Awards 2020. Its UK Production & Content team (known at th
Sennheiser Raises The Bar At 2020 Brit Awards
Sennheiser has once again raised the bar at the 2020 Brit Awards, with its microphones and IEM systems delivering sensational performances. Hosted by
IABM Calls For Entries For BaM Awards
IABM, the international trade association for broadcast and media technology suppliers, is calling for entries for the 2020 NAB Show Las Vegas BaM Awa
Sennheiser Supply Digital Signal Chain For Grammy Awards
Sennheiser have achieved an industry first using its Digital 6000 wireless microphone system to deliver a completely digital signal path for wireless
RTS Announces Winners Of Student Television Awards 2014
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the winners of the 20th RTS Student Television Awards. Chaired by Stuart Murphy, Director, Sky Entert
RTS Announces Student Award Nominees
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Student Television Awards 2013. The awards are chaired by Patrick Younge,