Broadcast News

Bookmark and Share

RTS Student TV Awards Announced

The winners of the 14th RTS Student Television Awards have now been announced. The ceremony was held on Friday at the The Barbican Centre, London and was hosted by Comedian and Presenter Tom Deacon and Chaired by Director of BBC North Peter Salmon. The Awards are designed to celebrate the achievements of students nationally – the Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards were judged in four categories including Fiction, Entertainment, Factual and Animation.
In the Undergraduate Fiction category, students from The Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama – Louis Paxton, Stuart Ewan and team – received the award for their humorous zombie film with a twist, Choreomania. The University of Wales' Joe Sharp and Lauren Muchan's documentary, Letters to Angola took the prize for Factual, while Nick White & Team, from The Arts University College at Bournemouth were awarded the Animation prize for Lullaby, a computer animation tackling the difficult and sensitive subject of child abuse.
The Entertainment award went to the University of Lincoln's Alex Holland and his team for comedy sketch show Best Friends that Love Each Over. The judges called it "an ambitious project that was hugely impressive and revealed massive potential in both the on and off screen talent."
In the Postgraduate categories, students from the National Film and Television School (NFTS) scooped a hat trick of Awards. Tom Green, Mahalia Rimmer and Purnima Phansalkar were honoured in the Fiction category for Brixton 85, about a young man’s actions which spark terror and violence in his local community. The judges described it as "Classy…a film which captured the era and took a big subject and made it its own with a very distinctive voice."
Mike O’ Leary and his team's portrayal of a 10 year old boy's journey into his own future, Not Safe for Work was victorious in the Entertainment category, while Philip Bacon, Mahalia Rimmer and Mo Bazazi made it a fantastic three for the NFTS with Yellow Belly End which scooped the Animation prize. The judges called it a "thought -provoking, truly original film that combined music, style and animation to create a world and mood of its own."
Jennifer Fearnley received the award for best Postgraduate Factual for Stuck on the Edge, a film about a remarkable 100 year-old woman.
A full list of the winners is available
Solidmate Ltd Memory Card Hire London

Top Related Stories
Click here for the latest broadcast news stories.

TMD Adds To APAC Team
TMD has announced the appointment of Heina Karina Abdul Wahid to its south-east Asia operations. Based in the company's offices in Kuala Lumpur, Heina
Team Effort Makes For Best Effect
In line with the US and European markets, the UK Post and VFX sector continues to be very competitive, says Peter Hampden, Managing Director, Lipsync.
DigiBox Adds To Team
DigiBox has announced the appointment of Kimberly Beard as its new product development and account manager. She will report to Jayson Chase, Group Com
Really Creative Media Adds To Team
Really Creative Media has expanded its team with the appointment of motion designer Alex Vipond. Vipond will support the company's fashion and music c
Graduate Film Shortlisted For TV Awards
A film made by graduates of the University of Wolverhampton's Video and Film Production course has been shortlisted at this year's RTS Student Televis
RTS Opens Entries For Student Television Awards 2018
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has opened entries for the RTS Student Television Awards 2018. The awards recognises work created by undergraduate
RTS Launches Craft & Design Awards 2018
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has launched the RTS Craft & Design Awards 2018. The Awards celebrate excellence in broadcast television and aim to
Animation Ireland Makes Final Call For Entries
Animation Ireland has made a final call for entries to the 2019 Irish Animation Awards. The 2019 awards ceremony will take place in Dingle on 23 March
Submissions Open For Music Producers Guild Awards 2018
To mark the 10th anniversary of the Music Producers Guild Awards, organisers are promising that the next ceremony, which takes place in London on Marc
Fjord Film Selects Riedel's MediaorNet Technology For New OB Van
A Danish production company Fjord Film has selected Riedel Communications' MediorNet real-time signal transport, processing, and routing technology an
Production News : Entries Open For 2019 Irish Animation Awards
Animation Ireland has announced that that entries are now open for the 2019 Irish Animation Awards. The 2019 awards ceremony will take place in Dingle
SnapStream Adds Direct Integration With Sony's Ci Media Cloud
Sony through its Intelligent Media Services business and SnapStream have announced direct integration between Sony's Ci Media Cloud platform and SnapS
The Operators Awards 2018 To Be Announced At BSC Awards Night
Some years ago, the Association of Camera Operators (ACO), British Society of Cinematographers (BSC) and the Guild of British Camera Technicians (GBCT
Panasonic Nominated In Three Categories At Gear Of The Year Awards
Panasonic has been nominated for three categories at Pro Moviemaker's 2017 Gear of the Year Awards for Innovation of the Year, Launch of the Year and
Winners Announced For RTS Yorkshire Centre Programme Awards 2017
The Royal Television Society (RTS) Yorkshire Centre celebrated excellence in production across the region on Friday 7 July, as it announced the winner