Broadcast News

Bookmark and Share

APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch Successful

RØDE and Genelec - in conjunction with their UK distributor Source Distribution - were recently platinum sponsors of the 2011 APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch.
Hosted by Sir George and Lady Judy Martin at the spectacular Roof Gardens Restaurant in Kensington, London it was attended by over 100 of the UK's leading recording industry figures.
Source were particularly pleased to welcome Jarmo Masko of Genelec, producers Paul Epworth, Mick Glossop and Gareth Jones, bassist Nick Fyffe, Keith Malin of KMR and Mark Thompson of Funky Junk to their table of guests.
The annual Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch, originally inaugurated in 2007 to mark the 60th anniversary of the APRS, recognises six individuals who have made a significant contribution to the art, science or business of sound recording.
This year saw the awards presented to legendary guitarist Jimmy Page, record producers Joe Boyd, Rupert Hine and Chris Thomas, console designer Clive Green and mastering engineer Bob Ludwig.
The duties of MC were jointly shared by APRS director Peter Filleul and Dr David Fisher, former Director of Tonmeister studies at the University of Surrey. The Harewood Toast (given in recognition of the Earl of Harewood, the founding President of the APRS) was proposed by Steven Nevin, CEO of the Music Publisher’s Association, and gave a wry and fascinating insight into the history and changing role of the publisher in today’s music industry.
As well as receiving his Sound Fellowship award from special guest Sir Bob Geldof, Rupert Hine also delivered the President’s Toast in honour of host Sir George Martin.
Commenting on the lunch, Source Managing Director Ian Jones said: "This is the first year that the APRS have invited platinum sponsors for the Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch, and we were delighted that our friends at Rode and Genelec agreed to help us and the APRS make the event the spectacular success that it was. I can’t recall ever sharing a room with so many legendary UK recording industry professionals – figures like Sir George Martin, Jimmy Page, Sir Bob Geldof, Rupert Hine, Glyn Johns, Ken Scott and Paul Epworth have all genuinely helped define and shape the history of popular music.
"As well as being an inspiration and an honour, it reminded us all of the wealth of recording talent that the UK continues to produce. That’s truly worth celebrating," he added.

Top Related Stories
Click here for the latest broadcast news stories.

APRS To Honour Industry Greats At Annual Sound Fellowship Lunch
The Association of Professional Recording Services has announced the date of this year's APRS Sound Fellowship Lunch to be held once again at the spec
APRS Overseas Category For Launch
Following regular enquiries from overseas audio companies, the APRS has decided to create a new category of membership that will encourage the develop
APRS Sound Fellowship Awards' Recipients Announced
The eighth annual APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch is to be held at the Roof Gardens, Kensington, on Tuesday 18 November. The APRS's annual celebrat
APRS Awards Industry Key-Players
The 6th annual APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch will see some of the music industry's biggest names recognised. The ceremony will be held at the Roo
APRS Launches The Harewood Toast At Sound Fellowship Lunch
The annual APRS Sound Fellowship Lunch to be held at the Roof Gardens, Kensington on November 17 will see the inauguration of a unique 'keynote' addre
APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Sponsors Announced
RØDE, Genelec and API - in conjunction with their UK distributor Source Distribution acted as this year’s platinum sponsors of the annual APRS Sound F
Stars Come Out For APRS Sound Fellowship Awards
Peter Gabriel, Trevor Horn, Sir George and Giles Martin and Robin Millar are amongst a host of personalities attending the third APRS Sound Fellowship
RØDE, Universal Audio And API Sponsor APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch
RØDE, Universal Audio and API, in association with their UK distributor Source Distribution, were thrilled to act as this year's platinum sponsors of
Six Join APRS Fellowship
Six recipients have been given APRS Fellowship at the 2015 APRS Sound Fellowship Awards. The Awards, which were held at the Kensington Roof Gardens an
APRS Reveals Honours For 2015 Sound Fellowships Awards
The Association of Professional Recording Services (APRS) has announced it will honour Ray Davies CBE, Richard Dodd, Stuart Nevison, Trisha Wegg, Pete
APRS Sound Fellowship Academy Pay Tribute To Sir George Martin
The Association of Professional Recording Services (APRS) Sound Fellowship Academy recently celebrated its 10th year by paying tribute to the life of
APRS Fellowship Lunch To Be Held This Week
The 2nd Annual Fellowships Lunch for the professional recording association APRS will take place on November 19 at 12:30pm at The Roof Gardens, 99 Ken
APRS To Honour Industry Greats At Sound Fellowship Presentation
The fourth annual APRS Sound Fellowship Lunch is to be held at the Roof Gardens, Kensington on November 16. Tony Wadsworth, Chairman of the BPI, has b
George Massenburg Collects APRS Sound Fellowship
After an enormously entertaining AES UK section lecture by US production guru, George Massenburg, he was presented with an APRS Sound Fellowship by Pe
IABM Announces Shortlist For Annual Awards And BaM Awards
IABM has announced the shortlisted entries for the 2021 edition of both its Annual IABM Awards and BaM Awards®, the latter again being rolled into a s