Broadcast News

Bookmark and Share

Jos Stam honoured by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Jos Stam, Principal Scientist at Autodesk, has been honoured with a Technical Achievement Award by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
The award acknowledges Stam’s research on subdivision surfaces and contributions to the motion picture industry.
“Autodesk applauds Jos Stam for his contributions to the field of computer graphics. He joins a highly respected group of Academy Award winners,” said Martin Vann, Vice President of Autodesk’s Media & Entertainment Division.
“Jos Stam has committed his career to advancing the science of computer graphics, helping the motion picture industry induce a sense of realism – a suspension of disbelief – for moviegoers everywhere.”
Subdivision surfaces is a modelling technology, based on algorithmic theory, that is essential for many types of motion picture computer graphics. It enables animators to smooth surfaces and create shapes with a sequence of successively refined polyhedral meshes. The theory originated in 1978 with initial concept development by Ed Catmull, famed computer graphics researcher and award co-recipient.
Stam and award co-recipient Tony DeRose were key contributors to the evolution of subdivision surfaces. They made the technology practical, resulting in the ability to create more advanced virtual buildings, lifelike characters and realistic computer-generated garments. Stam's work has since been implemented into the Autodesk Maya product line and documented in numerous published journals and conference papers.
Solidmate Ltd Memory Card Hire London

Top Related Stories
Click here for the latest broadcast news stories.

RTS Announces East Centre's Television Award Winners
The Royal Television Society (RTS) East Centre has announced the winners for the RTS East Centre Awards 2017 with a ceremony hosted by BBC Look East p
Entec Sound & Light MD Receives Industry Award
Noreen O'Riordan, Managing Director of Entec Sound & Light and Head of Lighting, has received the Outstanding Contribution Award at the TPi Awards 201
Mark Roberts Motion Control Wins The Queen's Award
Mark Roberts Motion Control has been awarded the highly prestigious Queen's Award for Enterprise: International Trade 2017. Mark Roberts Motion Contro
Astera's PixelBrick Wins 2021 PLASA Award For Innovation
Astera's PixelBrick has won a 2021 PLASA Award for Innovation – one of two lighting products out of the six 2021 winners selected from 29 entries – as
Brainstorm To Exhibit Virtual Sets And Motion Graphics Solutions At IBC 2017
Brainstorm will be exhibiting at IBC 2017 and showcasing the latest versions of its product line of virtual sets and motion graphics solutions. Also,
Lawo Shortlisted For IBC Innovation Award 2017
German network, control, audio and video products and solutions pioneer, Lawo is proud to report that it has been included in the shortlist of entries
Bridge Technologies Wins SCTE Award
Bridge Technologies has secured the 'Best Broadband Network Transmission Solution' Award at the SCTE 2017 Technological Innovations Awards Gala Dinner
Yamaha CS-700 Secures Award Win
Yamaha's CS-700 Video Sound Collaboration System has secured AV Technology's Best of Show Award at this year's InfoComm. The Yamaha CS-700 brings toge
EditShare's QUALES QC Honoured With TV Technology Innovation Award
EditShare has said that they are "proud to close out 2017" with a prestigious TV Technology Product Innovation Award for its automated QC and file ver
IABM Announces 2017 Award Winners
IABM has announced the 2017 winners of its annual awards at the IABM Annual International Business Conference last week. The awards recognise outstand
Enterprise Award
After receiving two awards for the Enterprise it is no surprise that the response to the latest iteration launched during IBC2017 is exceeding expecta
ACS Wins Emmy Sports Award
Aerial Camera Systems (ACS) has recently received an Emmy Sports Award. The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the winne
Clive Langer & Alan Winstanley To Receive Top Award
It has been revealed that producers Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley will receive one of the top accolades at the 2018 Music Producers Guild Awards. T
Barbara Lange Earns W&J Alumni Award
Barbara Lange, SMPTE Executive Director, has been honoured by her alma mater – Washington & Jefferson College (W&J) – with its 2017 Alumni Award for A
Queen + Adam Lambert VR Concert Wins Award
Queen + Adam Lambert's first live concert virtual reality experience – VR The Champions – has been announced the winner of the IMAGO Award for Extraor