Broadcast News

Bookmark and Share

Finalists Of 2008 Rory Peck Awards For Features And News Announced

The Rory Peck Trust has announced the three finalists shortlisted for the Rory Peck Award for Features, which recognise in-depth stories that look beyond the immediacy of news, and the three finalists nominated for the Rory Peck Award for News, which focuses on the immediacy of a news story. Both awards honour the bold approach and initiative of freelance journalists that lead to agenda-setting global news coverage.
“It is easy to assume that, like us, freelance camera people are merely observers to the tragedies, disasters and conflicts that they are sent out to cover, said Tina Carr, Director of the Rory Peck Trust. Sadly, however, this is rarely the case. These awards acknowledge the immense courage that freelancers take to provide us with an unbiased perspective of worldwide events.”
The winners will be announced at the Rory Peck Awards at The British Film Institute, Southbank, in London on November 13th.
The finalists of the 2008 News Award are: Clifford Derrick: Kibera Slum, which takes the viewer into Kenya's notorious Kibera Slum at the height of the post-election chaos and shows how its impoverished residents bore the brunt of the violence; Abdullahi Farah Duguf: Two Weeks In Mogadishu, which shows shows distressing scenes of violence, destruction and human misery in Mogadishu as the insurgency erupted into almost daily battles on the streets; and Subina Shrestha: Down The Irrawaddy Delta, which is about survivors left stranded after cyclone Nargis hit the Irrawaddy Delta in Myanmar.
The judging panel was chaired by Nigel Baker, Vice President of Business Operations, EMEA and Asia, Associated Press and is made up of: Mike Inglis, Cameraman, Sky News; David Lloyd, Visiting Professor of TV Journalism, City University; Jonathan Munro, Deputy Editor/Director Newsgathering, ITV News; Jennifer Siebens, Vice-President Europe and London Bureau Chief, CBS News and ; Fran Unsworth, Head of Newsgathering, BBC News.
The finalists for the 2008 Features Award are: Rodrigo Vasquez: Inside Hamas, which covers the reality of daily life in Gaza under a Hamas government; Tim Hetherington: The Other War, which is an eyewitness account of the daily physical and emotional struggles of soldiers from the Second Platoon of the 173rd Airborne fighting in the Korengal Valley in Afghanistan and; Vaughan Smith: Grenadiers Fighting In Helmand, which offers a rare view of what it was like to be a British infantry soldier in Helmand last summer and the hazards of training Afghan troops while in battle.
The judging panel is chaired by freelance producer/director Caroline Pare and includes: Dorothy Byrne, Head of News and Current Affairs, Channel 4 Television; Isabel Jubert, Freelance Producer; Brian Kelly, Cameraman, CBC; Mark Perrow, Commissioning Editor, Features, BBC TV News Channels; Alex Sutherland, Freelance Consultant/Executive Producer.
Solidmate Ltd Memory Card Hire London

Top Related Stories
Click here for the latest broadcast news stories.

Nominations For RTS Television Journalism Awards 2018 Announced
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2018. The awards ceremony, sponsored by Gues
RTS Announces Television Journalism Awards 2016
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2016.   The awards, for news and current aff
RTS Announces TV Journalism Awards
Last night saw the Royal Television Society (RTS) present awards to the winners of the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2012/2013. The ceremony was ch
Nominations Announced For RTS Television Journalism Awards
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2013/2014. The awards, for news and current
Are Technology Awards Still Worth The Effort?
It's officially awards season in the US – the last and first couple of months of each year when the most prominent and prestigious film awards are cel
RTS Opens Entries For Student Television Awards 2018
The Royal Television Society (RTS) has opened entries for the RTS Student Television Awards 2018. The awards recognises work created by undergraduate
SMPTE Announces Annual Awards Recipients for 2017
SMPTE has revealed the individuals who will be recognized with 2017 awards as part of the SMPTE 2017 Annual Technical Conference & Exhibition (SMPTE 2
Panasonic Nominated In Three Categories At Gear Of The Year Awards
Panasonic has been nominated for three categories at Pro Moviemaker's 2017 Gear of the Year Awards for Innovation of the Year, Launch of the Year and
Submissions Open For Music Producers Guild Awards 2018
To mark the 10th anniversary of the Music Producers Guild Awards, organisers are promising that the next ceremony, which takes place in London on Marc
Winners Of Television Journalism Awards 2018 Announced
The winners of the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2018 have been revealed by the Royal Television Society (RTS) at an awards ceremony at the London
LED Creative Delivers For 2017 Best FIFA Football Awards
LED Creative has recently supported the Infinity Creative Events production crew with a number of products at the 2017 Best FIFA Football Awards. Film
NewTek Launches 2018 UK Education Awards
NewTek has launched its 2018 UK Education Awards. The awards recognise excellence in creating engaging and inspiring videos and live streams by studen
Sam Rubin To Host 2017 SMPTE Awards Gala
SMPE has announced that Sam Rubin will host the SMPTE Annual Awards Gala at SMPTE 2017 later this month. With a theme focusing on Hollywood glamour th
RTS Announces Nominations For North West Awards 2017
The Royal Television Society (RTS) North West Centre has announced the nominations for its annual awards, at an event sponsored by Audio Network. Cat
Sachtler And Vinten Announce Trifecta Of Awards For flowtech At IBC2017
Sachtler® and Vinten®, both Vitec Group brands and global industry leaders in camera supports for more than 100 years, today announced that their revo