Broadcast News

Bookmark and Share

Jowell names OFCOM Board

The inaugural Board of embryonic communications regulator OFCOM has been named by the Government.
New Deputy Chairman Richard Hooper, currently Chair of the Radio Authority, joins David Edmonds, Director General of Oftel, former Channel Four News editor Sara Nathan and Urmila Banerjee, who has extensive public service experience, will relinquish her position as non-executive director of Channel Four to join OFCOM.
These four non-executive appointees join Chairman Lord David Currie on the Board, who took up his position in August.
Following a recommendation in Lord Puttnam's Joint Committee Report to extend the maximum size of the Board from six to nine members, the Government also propose to eventually make Professor of Journalism Ian Hargreaves a non-executive member along with two, as yet unnamed, executive members.
In announcing the appointments, Culture Minister Tessa Jowell said: “I am delighted that the Board of OFCOM is now complete and can start on the important job of creating a fully converged, world-class regulator for the communications industry.”
Lord Currie added: “A key task for the new Board will be to build a successful organisation that can deploy many of the different skills that currently reside in the five existing regulators in an integrated way. As Chairman, I am therefore delighted to see such a wealth of experience and expertise represented on the new Board. I have every confidence that the OFCOM Board can deliver on the demanding agenda that Parliament and Ministers will set for us.”
The Board, who all share extensive media, public service and business experience, will be responsible for recruiting OFCOM's first Chief Executive.
Initially, the time commitment of the non-executive members of the OFCOM Board is expected to be up to two days per week, for which they will receive £30,000 a year.
Solidmate Ltd Memory Card Hire London

Top Related Stories
Click here for the latest broadcast news stories.

Prin Boon Joins PHABRIX
Prin Boon has been named as the new Product Manager at PHABRIX. In this role, Mr Boon will be responsible for the company's portfolio of test and meas
NFTS Appoints New Board Member
The National Film and Television School (NFTS) has appointed Naomi Climer to its Board of Governors. Ms Climer, who is Council Chair of the Internatio
Production News : BBC Four Announced New Season Of Themed Programmes
BBC Four has announced a new season of programmes celebrating and exploring the ideas, inspirations and visionaries behind the concept of utopia: a pl
New Partnership For Screen Training Ireland
Details of a new partnership between Screen Training Ireland, Animation Skillnet and Dublin Institute of Technology has been unveiled by Ireland's Min
Plans To Establish New Screen Unit
Plans to establish a new Screen Unit within Creative Scotland have been signed off by Culture Secretary Fiona Hyslop. The Screen Unit will work to enh
Production News : New Series Of 'Real Marigold Hotel' Announced
Nine celebrities have been confirmed to take part in a new series of Real Marigold Hotel. The show, which follows the group of famous faces as they ro
Production News : BBC Four Commissions New Swedish Drama
BBC Four has announced the commission of Swedish drama series, Black Lake; about a group of young friends and the unsettling chain of events that are
Duncan Payne Joins Adamantean Board
Duncan Payne has been appointed to the board of Adamantean Ltd. Payne, who was the former Regional Director at Azule Finance, joins fellow directors G
New Board Members For Production Guild Of Great Britain
Two new members have been appointed to the board of the Production Guild of Great Britain. Some returning elected and co-opted members have also been
Ofcom Announces New Board Members
Dame Patricia Hodgson and Dame Lynne Brindley have been appointed as Non-Executive Directors of Ofcom, Culture Secretary Jeremy Hunt has announced. Da
Ofcom announce senior legal team
Ofcom have announced the appointment of the senior legal professionals who will support the new communications regulator in all competition law, regul
NFTS To Deliver New 'Director Stepping Up Scheme For High End TV Drama'
The National Film and Television School (NFTS) has been commissioned by Creative Skillset's High End TV Levy Fund to deliver a new training programme
Media Links Names New Chairman
John Dale III has been named as the new Chairman, CEO and President of Media Links. Effective from 1 April, 2017, John succeeds Takatsugu Ono, who wil
Ofcom appoints Olympic athlete to broadcasting regulator
Jonathan Edwards, the Olympic triple jump gold medallist and presenter of the BBC's Songs of Praise, is joining a panel unveiled by Ofcom this week to
AIMS Welcomes New Associate Members
The Alliance for IP Media Solutions (AIMS) has announced two new associate members: Adder Technology and Cologne Broadcasting Center (CBC). Adder desi